The Edit — Gadgets
Which Kindle to Buy in 2026: Every Model Compared
Amazon redesigned every Kindle on 1 October 2026: a 6-inch Kindle, an aluminium Kindle, the Paperwhite, the Colorsoft, 2 Signature Editions and Kids versions of all 3. What each step up adds, in plain terms.
This guide is research-led: we have not handled these units ourselves. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission — it never changes a pick.Research-led, nothing handled. We may earn from links; it never changes a pick. How we choose
The page reads the announcement Amazon made on 1 October 2026, as How we choose describes, and sets out what separates each model, with ratings read off the listings on 14 October 2026. Nothing here was handled or tested.
Amazon Kindle 16GB (2026 model)
Good fit Coat pockets, purses and commutes
Not for Readers who want weeks between charges
Amazon Kindle 32GB, aluminium (2026 model)
Good fit Big libraries and a metal finish
Not for Anyone happy with 16 GB
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model)
Good fit Bath, beach and long reading sessions
Not for Anyone set on the 2026 screen
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024 model)
Good fit Reading in changing light
Not for Anyone who wants the 2026 dock
Amazon Kindle Colorsoft 16GB (2024 model)
Good fit Comics, cookbooks and colour highlights
Not for Readers of plain novels
The 6-inch Kindle is the pocket model, now in 2 builds
The Kindle is the smallest of the 3, and Amazon calls it the most pocket-sized Kindle it has made. It carries 16 GB, up to 6 weeks of battery, and opens books 30% faster than the previous release, by Amazon’s figure. It comes in Ube, a purple, and Graphite.
For the first time the same 6-inch reader also comes with an aluminium back, made from 80% recycled aluminium. That version doubles the storage to 32 GB and comes in Alpine Sky and Seaglass Green. The screen, size and battery are the same; the back and the storage are the difference.
Amazon’s announcement does not call the 6-inch Kindle waterproof. It says that only of the Paperwhite.
Amazon Kindle 16GB (2026 model)
The new 6-inch Kindle, with early owners keen on the size and the Ube colour and split on battery life.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Screen | 6-inch |
|---|---|
| Storage | 16 GB |
| Battery | Up to 6 weeks, stated |
Buy it for a commute, a purse or a child’s first reader. Early owners like how little it weighs and how quick it feels, and the Ube colour gets a lot of the praise.
The recurring complaint is battery drain, which sits awkwardly with the 6 weeks Amazon states. With 162 ratings on a listing barely 2 weeks old, the picture may still move.
Buy it if
- Coat pockets, purses and commutes
Don't buy it if
- Readers who want weeks between charges
Amazon Kindle 32GB, aluminium (2026 model)
The same 6-inch reader with a recycled aluminium back, double the storage and no lock-screen ads.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Screen | 6-inch |
|---|---|
| Storage | 32 GB |
| Back | 80% recycled aluminium |
Buy the aluminium version if your library runs to hundreds of books or you want the metal finish. This listing has no lock-screen ads.
Its rating is shared with the 16 GB model’s listing, so it says little about the aluminium build itself. The screen and battery are the same, and so are the early battery complaints.
Buy it if
- Big libraries and a metal finish
Don't buy it if
- Anyone happy with 16 GB
The Paperwhite is the one to buy for the bath and the beach
The Kindle Paperwhite is the waterproof model, with an adjustable warm light and up to 12 weeks of battery, twice the 6-inch Kindle’s figure. Amazon says it has the largest Paperwhite display yet and the highest contrast ratio of any Paperwhite, built on an oxide thin-film transistor backplane.
The standard Paperwhite carries 16 GB and comes in Graphite. For most readers it is the model the rest of the range is measured against: thinner and lighter than the previous Paperwhite, by Amazon’s account, and the only one of the 3 base models Amazon describes as waterproof.
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model)
23,504 ratings at 4.6, with owners praising the weeks between charges, the light weight and quick page turns.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Screen | 7-inch glare-free |
|---|---|
| Battery | Up to 12 weeks, stated |
| Water | Waterproof |
The 2026 Paperwhite was not yet listed with ratings on 14 October, so this is the 2024 model, still on sale. It is waterproof, with a 7-inch screen and up to 12 weeks of battery.
Owners keep coming back to the long gaps between charges and how light it is for long sessions. Buy it now for a reader who wants a proven model; wait for the 2026 version if the bigger, higher-contrast screen is the point.
Buy it if
- Bath, beach and long reading sessions
Don't buy it if
- Anyone set on the 2026 screen
A Signature Edition buys the light, the storage and the dock
Each Signature Edition adds the same 5 things to its base model: an aluminium back, 32 GB of storage, an auto-adjusting front light, double tap to turn pages, and pogo pin dock charging. Amazon says the Paperwhite Signature Edition is still thinner than the previous Paperwhite despite the metal.
The dock is the detail to check. Amazon’s 2026 announcement describes pogo pin dock charging for the Signature Editions and does not mention wireless charging. The new Charging Dock and the Page-Turn Cover both fit only the Paperwhite and Colorsoft Signature Editions.
The Paperwhite Signature comes in Graphite and Seaglass Green. The Colorsoft Signature comes in Graphite and Fig.
Amazon Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024 model)
13,216 ratings at 4.6, the Paperwhite with an auto-adjusting light, 32 GB and wireless charging.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Storage | 32 GB |
|---|---|
| Light | Auto-adjusting front light |
| Charging | Wireless, stated on the listing |
The 2024 Signature Edition already carries the auto-adjusting light and 32 GB, and charges wirelessly rather than on the 2026 dock. It suits a reader who moves between daylight and a dark bedroom.
Owners rate the battery and the quick charge. The recurring doubt is value: some feel the extras over a standard Paperwhite are thin for the money.
Buy it if
- Reading in changing light
Don't buy it if
- Anyone who wants the 2026 dock
The Colorsoft is for covers, comics and colour highlights
The Kindle Colorsoft shows colour on a paper-like screen, with a light guide using nitride LEDs and an oxide backplane. Amazon pitches it at colourful covers, travel guides, comics and graphic novels. The 2026 Colorsoft display is completely redesigned, with the same edge-to-edge build as the rest of the range.
For a reader of novels it adds little. Text is black on a pale page either way, and the Paperwhite’s screen is the one Amazon pitches at crisp text, with the highest contrast ratio of any Paperwhite. The standard Colorsoft carries 16 GB in Graphite.
Amazon Kindle Colorsoft 16GB (2024 model)
2,996 ratings at 4.5, colour covers and highlighting, with owners split on how bright and sharp the screen is.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Screen | Colour display |
|---|---|
| Storage | 16 GB |
| Ads | No ads |
The 2026 Colorsoft was on preorder with no ratings yet, so this is the 2024 model. Buy it for comics, cookbooks and colour highlighting, not for novels.
Owners find it easy to use and a good size in the hand. The complaint that recurs is a screen dimmer and softer than they expected, which is the case for waiting on the redesigned 2026 display.
Buy it if
- Comics, cookbooks and colour highlights
Don't buy it if
- Readers of plain novels
The 2026 Kindle models compared side by side
| Model | Screen | Storage | Battery, as stated | What it adds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindle | 6-inch | 16 GB | Up to 6 weeks | The smallest and lightest |
| Kindle, aluminium | 6-inch | 32 GB | Up to 6 weeks | Aluminium back, double storage |
| Kindle Paperwhite | Largest Paperwhite yet | 16 GB | Up to 12 weeks | Waterproof, warm light |
| Paperwhite Signature Edition | As Paperwhite | 32 GB | Not stated separately | Auto light, double tap, dock charging |
| Kindle Colorsoft | Colour | 16 GB | Not stated in the announcement | Colour covers, comics, highlights |
| Colorsoft Signature Edition | Colour | 32 GB | Not stated in the announcement | Auto light, double tap, dock charging |
Kids models add a cover and a year of Kids+
All 3 readers come in a Kids version with a cover designed by an artist and 12 months of Amazon Kids+, the children’s catalogue of books and audiobooks. Amazon says children read for more than an hour a day on average on a Kindle, with no apps, notifications or messaging.
On 1 October the Kids Kindle went on sale in the US, and the Kids Colorsoft opened for preorder. A tablet does far more and distracts far more; Kids tablets compared covers that choice. Amazon Kids+ is a separate membership from Kindle Unlimited and Prime; Kindle Unlimited or Prime Reading sets out all 3.
Kindle Click works with any Kindle from 2024 on
A Bluetooth page-turn remote is the one 2026 accessory that also suits an older reader. Amazon says the remote, called Kindle Click, pairs with all the new models and with any Kindle from 2024 or later, for reading under the covers, on a treadmill or on a tray table.
The Page-Turn Cover adds physical page buttons and the Charging Dock holds the reader upright. Both fit only the Paperwhite and Colorsoft Signature Editions. Covers in knit, plant-based leather and pebbled leather come colour-matched across the range.
The 2024 Kindles are still on sale, with years of reviews
The 6-inch Kindle and its aluminium version went on sale in the US on 1 October 2026. The Paperwhite and Colorsoft opened for preorder on a rolling basis, so the 2024 models remain on the shelf for now, with years of owner reports behind them. E-readers compared ranks those 2024 Kindles against Kobo’s readers by rating, and Kindle Paperwhite or Kobo Clara settles the most common head-to-head, library borrowing included.
Prices, savings and deal badges are Amazon's own, read from Amazon within the last hour. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
Keep reading
Compared
E-Readers Compared: Kindle Against KoboThe most expensive Kindle rates lowest of all 8 e-readers here, and a 2024 model still leads.
Compared
Gifts for Teens That Get Used After DecemberWill it still be used in February? 5 gifts that pass that test.
Head to head
Kindle Paperwhite or Kobo Clara: Which E-ReaderA US Kindle can read library books too, but each loan finishes on Amazon's website; a Kobo Clara borrows from the reader itself.






















